In a spot of good news for the fish of the Arctic Ocean, the world’s major fishing nations have agreed to halt commercial fishing in the Arctic.

Global warming means much of the once-frozen Arctic has begun to melt. This, unfortunately, makes its waters more accessible to fleets of fishing boats. But in a spot of good news for Arctic wildlife, the world’s major fishing nations, including China, have agreed to a moratorium on commercial fishing in Arctic waters before a fishery was even established.

This area of the planet is warming at almost twice the average global rate. This, in turn, causes changes in both the size and distribution of fish stocks.

“No commercial fishing will take place in the high seas portion of the central Arctic Ocean while we gain a better understanding of the area’s ecosystems,” said the Canadian Fisheries Minister, Dominic Leblanc in a statement.

Canada, the European Union, China, Denmark — for Greenland and the Faroe Islands — Iceland, Japan, South Korea, Norway, Russia and the United States agreed to the moratorium. The nations also agreed that before any fishing takes place, they will establish “appropriate conservation and management measures.”

To that end, the parties committed to conducting joint scientific research and monitoring. Studies will attempt an understanding of the Arctic’s complex ecosystem and whether it can support commercial fisheries in the future.

“It will fill an important gap in the international ocean governance framework and will safeguard fragile marine ecosystems for future generations,” said Karmenu Vella, EU Commissioner for the Environment, Fisheries and Maritime Affairs. He went on to call the agreement “historic.”

In principle, all 10 nations must still ratify the agreement. But Greenpeace offered praise nonetheless, saying the moratorium is expected to last for at least the next 16 years. It will cover an area of one million square miles (2.8 million square kilometers).
Click here for more.


Have something to add to this post? Share it in the comments.
New stuff
dive Mexico

Five Great Reasons to Dive Mexico This Winter

It’s is one of the best diving destinations in the world, with highlights like Socorro Island and the Sea of Cortez. Here are five great reasons to dive Mexico this winter.
Bob Halstead

Dive Legend Bob Halstead Passes Away

The dive community lost a legend in December when prolific author and photographer Bob Halstead passed away.
by Deborah Dickson-Smith
Gili islands

Diving the Gili Islands After the 2018 Earthquakes

Lombok and the Gili Islands are bouncing back after the devastating 2018 earthquakes and are anxious to welcome visitors once again.
by Deborah Dickson-Smith
jellyfish lake

How is Jellyfish Lake Doing?

After vanishing two years ago, the jellyfish of Palau’s Jellyfish Lake are recovering. Local tour companies are once again visiting the iconic location.
by Guest Author